Skip to Content Skip to Navigation logo

Division of Motor Vehicles

Vehicle Services Registration

Insurance Requirements

All vehicles registered in the State of Delaware are required to have the minimum Delaware liability insurance coverage of $25,000/$50,000/$10,000 and a PIP (Personal Injury Protection) minimum of $15,000 for any 1 person and $30,000 for all persons injured in any 1 accident. A valid Delaware insurance identification card is required to be in the possession of the driver or carried in the vehicle and shall be produced upon the request of a police officer or any other party involved in an accident with the insured. Insurance from other states will not be accepted to title and register vehicles in the State of Delaware.

Violators are subject to a fine of $1,500 for the first offense, $3,000 for subsequent offenses and a suspension of the vehicle registration.

In addition, the Division of Motor Vehicles audits vehicles for insurance compliance. Failure to maintain proper insurance may result in fines and registration suspension. License plates must be surrendered to the Division prior to cancelling insurance for any reason on vehicles with active registrations. Tags will be returned at no charge if proper insurance is provided and the registration has not expired.

Insurance requirements are located within Delaware Code Title 21 - § 2118 Requirement of insurance for all motor vehicles required to be registered in this State; penalty. [For application of this section, see 82 Del. Laws, c. 160, § 5]